Skip to content
Workflows Resources Case Studies Pricing About
Guides

Free AI Agents for Business: What $0 Plans Really Cover

Meta Muse, OpenClaw, and Hermes cost nothing to start, but model fees and setup time add up. See what free AI agent tiers cover and where paid plans win.

By Ahmad TawfikPublished 9 min read

Free is the most popular price in AI, and the least understood. Intuit's 2026 survey found roughly 7 in 10 small and mid-sized businesses use AI regularly, but only about 1 in 10 pays for dedicated AI tools. That means most owners run on free tiers, free chatbots, or free open-source software — often without knowing what the free version leaves out or what it quietly costs in labor. This article maps the genuine $0 options for 2026, what each one covers, and the point where paying beats free.

For the full paid landscape, pair this with our AI agent pricing comparison. For the deeper open-source analysis, see open-source AI agents for small business.

Key takeaways

  • Meta Muse is free for most personal needs, but it is a consumer agent, not business infrastructure wired into a CRM or phone system.
  • OpenClaw and Hermes Agent cost $0 for the software itself; you still pay model API fees, hosting from about $24 per month, and setup labor.
  • Free tiers cap volume, omit business controls like audit logs and shared workspaces, and deprioritize heavy users.
  • The honest price of free is oversight and maintenance time — track it, because it usually exceeds the subscription you avoided.
  • Start free for pilots, and upgrade when the agent touches customers, money, or volumes a free tier cannot carry.

Meta Muse: the free personal agent

Muse, launched by Meta in the US on September 8, 2026, is the most capable free agent most owners can try today. It is billed as a personal AI agent for everyone, reachable through a dedicated app, the web, and WhatsApp, and powered by Meta's in-house Muse Spark model. It runs each person's agent and data inside a dedicated virtual machine Meta calls the Muse Secure VM, with a more locked-down encrypted version planned later in 2026. It can send emails, book travel, shop, open browsers, fill out forms, and keep working in the background after the app closes, returning for approval when needed, for example before purchases.

The price is straightforward: free for most of what people need, with paid subscription plans for heavier use, though Meta had not published full plan details at launch. For an owner, that makes Muse a legitimate free executive assistant for personal productivity — inbox help, scheduling, research, errands. Our Meta Muse explainer covers the setup and limits in detail.

The limits matter more than the price. Muse is consumer-first: it does not live inside a CRM, answer a business phone line, or produce the audit trail a firm needs when staff act on customer records. And there is a cited caution worth knowing: Reuters reported that internal tests showed the product stalling and exposing sensitive data without authorization, and that Meta launched anyway. Use the free tier for your own productivity, keep business customer data out of it until the controls mature, and never treat a personal agent as a substitute for governed business systems.

OpenClaw and Hermes: free software, real running costs

The open-source pair works on the opposite model from Muse: the software is free forever, and you supply everything else. OpenClaw, stewarded by an independent nonprofit foundation under an MIT license, runs on your own computer and meets you in chat apps you already use — WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Signal, and dozens more — with persistent memory, more than a hundred preconfigured skills, web browsing, file access, and scheduled background tasks. Hermes Agent, from Nous Research and also MIT-licensed, adds a self-improving learning loop with agent-curated memory and skills that improve during use, one gateway process connecting to more than twenty platforms, and compatibility with any of hundreds of models.

Neither project has a paid tier or a hosted service, so the license cost is genuinely zero. The running costs are threefold. First, model API fees: every task the agent performs consumes tokens from whichever model you connect, paid to that provider. Second, hosting: a hardened one-click deploy starts around $24 per month if you do not want the agent living on an office laptop. Third and largest, labor: someone installs it, updates it, scopes its permissions, reviews its work, and fixes it when an update breaks a workflow. Our open-source guide prices this honestly — free software with ten hours of monthly tinkering costs more than a $60 subscription for most shops.

Choose this path if you have technical capacity in-house and value control over data and models. Avoid it if nobody on the team will own updates and access reviews, because an unmaintained self-hosted agent with broad permissions is worse than no agent at all.

What free tiers include, and where they stop

Free commercial tiers follow a consistent pattern across the market: enough to try, not enough to run on. The table below summarizes the 2026 landscape from published launch information.

ProductFree tierPaid step-upWhat free leaves out
Meta MuseFree for most needsPaid plans for heavier useBusiness controls, CRM and phone integration, published SLAs
OpenClaw / HermesFree software, no paid tierN/A (pay model APIs and hosting)There is no vendor to call; support is community and docs
Cursor (Hobby)Free Hobby planPro $20, Pro Plus $60, Ultra $200 per monthHigher usage pools, team features, Grok Bot access on paid plans
ChatGPT DotsNo free tier announcedPro and Business Premium in eligible marketsThe entire agent: background computers, app connectors, approvals
Claude CoworkNo free tierPaid plans (Pro, Max, Team, Enterprise)Cloud tasks, connectors, admin controls all sit behind paywalls

Two patterns deserve emphasis. First, the agents most useful inside a business — Dots with its cloud computers and 4,000-plus app connections, Cowork with its file, browser, and connector access — both require paid plans, because background computing and business integrations cost the vendor real money. Second, Cursor's free Hobby plan is useful for trying AI-assisted coding but Grok Bot access starts at paid tiers, which tells you where vendors draw the line between acquisition and product.

The practical move is sequencing: run your evaluation on free tiers, pilot one task on the cheapest paid tier that carries real volume, and only then commit annually. Free tells you whether the category fits; it rarely tells you whether the tool survives contact with your peak week.

The hidden price of free: your hours

Every free agent bill arrives in hours instead of dollars, and owners systematically undercount them. Track three buckets for a month. Setup hours: installing, connecting apps, writing the first briefs, configuring permissions. Oversight hours: the daily approval queue and the weekly review of what the agent did. Repair hours: broken connections after app updates, misunderstood instructions, output that needs redoing.

Intuit's data gives this a dollar frame: 78 percent of US AI users report improved productivity, but only 29 percent report cost reductions while 17 percent report cost increases — the difference between those groups is largely whether someone measured total cost including labor. A free setup consuming six staff hours a month at a $35 loaded rate costs $210, which buys most paid plans twice over.

When paying beats free

Upgrade on evidence, not anxiety. The three trigger lines are clear. First, consequence: the moment an agent contacts customers, moves money, or edits records of account, it needs approvals, logs, and support contracts that free tiers do not provide — the point where a purpose-built AI receptionist usually beats assembling free parts. Second, arithmetic: when monthly oversight and repair hours exceed the subscription that would eliminate them, pay the subscription. Third, reliability: when a missed run costs a job — a booking unmade, a lead unanswered — free-tier deprioritization and community support stop being acceptable risks.

Note what the market considers normal here: with only about 1 in 10 US small businesses paying for dedicated AI tools, staying free through evaluation and a first pilot puts you with the majority, not behind it. The businesses pulling ahead are not the ones paying earliest; they are the ones who measured the free phase and upgraded exactly when the numbers said so.

FAQ

Is Meta Muse really free for business use?

Muse launched free for most of what people need, with paid subscription plans for heavier use, though full pricing details were not specified at launch. It is a consumer-first personal agent, so it can help an owner with inbox, scheduling, and research, but it is not a substitute for systems wired into a CRM or phone line. Treat it as a free personal assistant, not free business infrastructure.

Are OpenClaw and Hermes actually free?

The software costs nothing: both are MIT-licensed open source with no paid tier or hosted service. What you pay for is everything around it — the AI model API calls the agent makes, hosting from about $24 per month for a hardened deploy, and the hours someone spends installing, updating, and securing it. Budget the labor honestly before calling the stack free.

What do free AI agent tiers usually leave out?

Free tiers typically cap usage volume, exclude business controls like shared workspaces and audit logs, and offer slower or lower-priority processing. ChatGPT Dots, for example, is rolling out to Pro and Business Premium plans rather than free accounts, and Claude Cowork requires a paid plan. When a free tier covers your pilot volume, start there and upgrade on evidence.

When should a business stop using free AI agents?

Upgrade when any of three lines is crossed: the agent touches customer data or money and needs approvals and logs, monthly usage or oversight labor exceeds the cost of a paid plan, or downtime starts costing jobs. Intuit's 2026 data shows only about 1 in 10 US small businesses pays for AI tools, so waiting until the pilot proves value is normal, not cheap.

Next step

List the agents running free in your business today, who granted each one access, and what each can touch — most owners find at least one forgotten connection. Then run the numbers with our free six-step AI automation plan: start your plan. If the audit shows phones and follow-up carrying the load, book a call and we will scope what a governed setup costs.

Frequently asked questions

Is Meta Muse really free for business use?
Muse launched free for most of what people need, with paid subscription plans for heavier use, though full pricing details were not specified at launch. It is a consumer-first personal agent, so it can help an owner with inbox, scheduling, and research, but it is not a substitute for systems wired into a CRM or phone line. Treat it as a free personal assistant, not free business infrastructure.
Are OpenClaw and Hermes actually free?
The software costs nothing: both are MIT-licensed open source with no paid tier or hosted service. What you pay for is everything around it — the AI model API calls the agent makes, hosting from about $24 per month for a hardened deploy, and the hours someone spends installing, updating, and securing it. Budget the labor honestly before calling the stack free.
What do free AI agent tiers usually leave out?
Free tiers typically cap usage volume, exclude business controls like shared workspaces and audit logs, and offer slower or lower-priority processing. ChatGPT Dots, for example, is rolling out to Pro and Business Premium plans rather than free accounts, and Claude Cowork requires a paid plan. When a free tier covers your pilot volume, start there and upgrade on evidence.
When should a business stop using free AI agents?
Upgrade when any of three lines is crossed: the agent touches customer data or money and needs approvals and logs, monthly usage or oversight labor exceeds the cost of a paid plan, or downtime starts costing jobs. Intuit's 2026 data shows only about 1 in 10 US small businesses pays for AI tools, so waiting until the pilot proves value is normal, not cheap.
Keep reading

Related articles

Get Your AI Automation Plan